Food
Comment 1

Do it yourself – Oatmilk

I love plantmilk and oatmilk is my favourite. I like it in my coffee or for my breakkfast cereals. When I started my plastic free month (German only) I had the problem how to replace the milk I usually buy in a plastic container. After some research I found out that it’s quite simple making your own milk. So I decided to give it a try. I was a bit sceptical in the beginning and the first time I tried it, it got a bit watery. So I experimented with the amount of water and oats until I found the perfect mix for me. So simple, so cheap and so delicious . Try for yourself!

7II03650.jpg

  • 1l  water
  • 100g oats
  • 1 tbsp grounded oat
  • 2 dried dates (optional)
  • Pinch of sea salt

Put all ingredients in a container and let soak for at least 4 hours. Mix with a spoon from time to time. Afterwards blend everything in a blender. Fill through a strainer. That’s it 🙂 Simple as that. You can use the leftover oats from the strainer for your breakfast porridge.

The dates are optional. They make the milk a bit sweeter which I really like – especially for coffee. But you can try both versions and decide for yourself. Guess it can also taste great to add some cinnamon or vanilla to get a special flavour.

You can store the self made milk for approx one week. Best keep it in the fridge.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Ein Monat ohne Plastik – Teil 2 |

Leave a comment